QUESTIONS ANSWERED

Welcome to our page where we answer all your pressing questions. Here you will find answers to common questions and rule clarifications. Each entry has a date indicating when it was last updated. If you have a question that is not covered here please either post in the Community Forum or send us an email to hello@warhost.online and we will do our best to answer you.

1. Is the idea that all warriors in a group have the same weapons? I saw that they have to be the same type, experience, and armour, but didn’t see a mention of weaponry?
(4th December 2020)

The idea is for all the warriors in the same group to all have the same weaponry, experience, armour and abilities; the same Warrior Profile applies to every Warrior (p.20). When building a group work out the points value for a single Warrior and multiply that value by how many warriors you want to be part of that group. If you choose to turn it into a Command Group by adding a Commander, the Commander can be armed differently.

During play testing we tried separate equipment and found in larger groups it bogged the game down somewhat and could become confusing in certain situations. For example figuring out exactly who is hitting who could lead to having to resolve each models attack and/or defence individually.

We decided everyone being equipped the same led to the quickest and most action packed gameplay (we tend to like our games simple, quick and bloody). However the army lists make it possible to arm the warriors in a group with different weapons and there is nothing stopping you as long as you and your opponent both agree.

2. On p.59 it states the ability “God Protects” for Militant Monks. Checking through the Abilities and Inherited Abilities I can not find any other mention or what the ability consists of. “For the Prince” also seems to be missing (used by Prince Louis) Have I missed it or is it missing?
(20th December 2020)

Page 86 for both, “God Protects” is actually “Faith” and “For the Prince” is actually “For the Lion”. The abilities received a late name change during the final edit and I (Andy Hobday) missed them on the Warrior Profiles, my apologies.

3. A group of Dismounted Knights tried to charge a group of spearmen 6″ far, being out of range it must use the charge bonus die, but a 2+ is not a result so difficult. The Knights roll obtaining 1 🙁 , so they failed and must move 1D6 forward. Rolling obtain 6! being able to reach they target. We solved saying: failed charge they must stop 1″ away from enemy group…Is this right?
(29th December 2020)

Yes, that is absolutely correct. The knights failed their initial charge so from that point on it is treated as a failed charge or ‘stumble’. Even though they rolled high enough to reach their initial target with this ‘stumble’ move they must now finish at least 1″ away from any enemy group.

4. If a group of Bowmen decide to charge an enemy group, what attack value can use? Short or long range value?
(29th December 2020)

It is a very brave action when ranged troops charge and engage the enemy in melee combat! If the weapon a Warrior is initially equipped with has a modifier, that modifier is included in their Profile. These modifiers are shared as part of the equipment table on page 74 where it shows a bow is +1 attack modifier at long range and a crossbow is -1 attack modifier at short range. You need to ignore these modifiers as we presume a secondary hand weapon of some sort is used in melee combat instead providing no modifier, therefore, you use short range for bowmen and long range for crossbowmen. 

5. The Two Handed Weapon modifier is -1 for my Knights but -2 for Monks and -1 for an Improvised Two Handed Weapon for the Levy. I also note that the Dane Axe/Two Handed Weapon is also -2. I assume the Dane Axe is -2 as it’s a Danish Axe, which is a two handed weapon. I assume other Two Handed Weapons, such as a Broad Sword, are a -1. I’m just not sure what the Monks have that’s -2 worthy or what sort of thing the levy would have as an improvised two handed weapon that’s as good as a Broad Sword?
(3rd January 2021)

It is all to do with the base equipment that each group comes with. To demonstrate let’s look at an Irregular Knight and an Irregular Monk.
If these two had no equipment their attack values would both be 7+. The knight is equipped with a sword which modifies his attack value to 6+. The monk has a hand weapon which has no modifier.
A two handed weapon has a -2 attack modifier. When equipped on a monk it will replace the hand weapon (no modifier) and bring the monks attack value to 5+.
When equipped to a knight it will replace the sword (-1 modifier). So you are essentially removing the sword and its modifier, bringing the knights attack back its base of 7+ and then equipping the two handed weapon (-2 modifier) to bring the attack value to 5+.
You get the same benefit to the models stat line we just did it this way to remove the step of taking away the swords modifier and then adding the two handed weapon modifier.
Across all units the base human under the equipment and abilities is the same the variations in stat line are all down to the equipment they come with at point of purchase. You will notice a variation in modifiers across warrior entries as the modifiers in the options account for the equipment the warriors already have.

6. I find unclear the Brace! description: it says the cavalry can’t make a “follow up” move, is that a charge move? I didn’t find this follow up on the combat chapter?
(5th January 2021)

Follow Up is the action of Over Charge described on page 77.

7. If the unit I put in defence has an action left and gets charged can I use this remaining action to pick a reaction like counterattack or brace?
(8th January 2021)

Yes, however, the moment you declare one of the other actions (before combat is initiated) it will replace the defence action.

8. I’m getting a bit confused by the Broken rule. On p.25 it says troops become Broken if they lose 25% of their starting total and loose a combat action.

I get that, but on p.40 it says they are Broken if they take 25% casualties but also after being Forced Back and losing a Morale check (nothing about losing the melee).

Given that in a draw both units can be Forced Back and lose potentially 25% casualties. Does that mean they both take a Morale test to see if they are Broken as if they both lost? Even though the Melee was a draw?

As it says on p.25 in the Broken section, you can only become Broken if you lose a Combat Action. In the result of a draw both sides are just pushed back with casualties recorded using a Morale Dice.

Buy now